'Please review your posts': Facebook accidentally shares 14M users' private info

'Please review your posts': Facebook accidentally shares 14M users' private info

Norman Sadeh, co-director of Carnegie Mellon University's Privacy Engineering Program, said that although Facebook survived temporary losses of trust from the public in the past, the recent scandals appeared to be taking their toll on the social media company. Facebook stopped the bug on May 22 but did not restore the proper privacy settings to all posts until May 27.

"We recently found a bug that automatically suggested posting publicly when some people were creating their Facebook posts". Facebook is notifying users who were affected and posted publicly during the time the bug was active, advising them to review their posts.

The bug was a result of a new feature that Facebook was developing to give users a different way of sharing certain content. To be clear, this bug did not impact anything people had posted before - and they could still choose their audience just as they always have. In the meantime, it has reverted the audience for any affected posts to whatever setting the user had selected previously. According to CNN, between May 18th and the 27th a bug caused around 14 million people to have their default sharing settings for new Facebook posts to be set to public.

It is still unclear how numerous 14 million profiles that were affected may have posted content privately without realizing they were sharing publicly. Anyone whose posts were mistakenly made public will see a notification on their Facebook account-both the mobile app and website-entitled "Please Review Your Posts".

Here's What You Need to Know About Facebook's New Data Scandal
Facebook used Twitter to push back against some of the lawmakers, telling Cicilline that the Times "is wrong about user controls". In the wake of the Cambridge Analytica scandal , Facebook's app clean-up may end up being more hard than we think.

Facebook reassured users the problem has now been fixed.

A Facebook spokesperson said the notification is the start of new proactive and transparent way for the company to handle issues going forward.

After it became public that tens of millions of users had been affected by the Cambridge Analytica scandal, Facebook took great lengths to beef up users' privacy controls.

Facebook data - do we get what we deserve?

Related Articles